Towards the Avant Garde

In 1925, sensing that he was unable to advance in the representational and figurative, Giacometti turned to the study of avant-garde sculpture. Artists such as Brancusi, Archipenko, Laurens and Lipchitz had created their central works even before the First World War, drawing on Cubism and the boldly abstract forms of non-European tribal art. This repertoire now served as a source of inspiration for Giacometti, and with his characteristic concentration and intellectual method he created two series of works in which he developed the classical topoi of sculpture in accordance with the new formal principles: the standing male or female figure, the couple, the head with the motif of seeing, the group of three. The first work was the ‘Torso’ of 1925, in which the figure is reduced to three geometrically stylized bodies but, with its tense volume and upwardly thrusting, contrapposto form, nevertheless exudes an organic vitality.

While his Cubist-style works deal more with formal issues such as the explosion and penetration of the sculptured block or the dynamic relationship between the individual elements, his idol-like figurations in the manner of African or Oceanic art constitute semiotic symbols of experienced reality. ‘Spoon Woman’, the first of his arrestingly front-on, large female figures suggestive of cult images, was inspired by spoons in the shape of human beings, and achieves an almost magical presence. The immense oval, which recalls ancient fertility idols, is half-curved towards the viewer; yet even as it opens up it also draws away, thus creating an enigmatic tension.

In the summer of 1927 Giacometti followed this up with another systematic investigative series created in Stampa and Maloja and featuring a sequence of heads based on his mother and father. The experience gained here led in 1928 to the ‘Gazing Head’, his first entirely original invention. Its expressive power lies in the tense outline of the rectangular plaque standing upon the ‘neck’ and the two indentations, which evoke the activity of looking: a disembodied, seemingly phantasmal construction, a membrane reflecting light. Giacometti subsequently produced a series of female plaque figures, variations on this form, so expressive of his non-sculptural sense of the sculptural. The works that followed, including the strikingly poetic ‘Reclining Woman Who Dreams’, once again incorporate real incursions into the third dimension, this time reversing the relationship between indentations and plaque: the latter is resolved into nothing and the signs stand freely in space.

Giacometti Torse

Torso, 1925-26

Plaster, height 58 cm

Giacometti Femme cuillere

Spoon Woman, 1926-27

Bronze, height 144 cm

Giacometti Tete qui regarde

Gazing Head, 1928

Plaster, height 39 cm

Giacometti Femme couchee qui reve.jpg

Reclining Woman Who Dreams, 1929

Bronze, painted white, height 24 cm

< 1 2 3 4 >

Aufbruch zur Avantgarde

1925 spürt Giacometti, dass ihn die Arbeit an der figürlich abbildungshaften Gestaltung nicht weiterführt, und so wendet er sich dem Studium der avantgardistischen Skulptur zu: Brancusi, Archipenko, Laurens und Lipchitz. Sie entwickelten ihre entscheidenden Werke noch vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg aus dem Kubismus und der aussereuropäischen, kühn abstrahierenden Stammeskunst. Giacometti steht dies alles bereits zur Verfügung, und so erarbeitet er sich in der ihm eigentümlichen Konzentration und gedanklichen Konsequenz in zwei Werkreihen die klassischen Themen der Skulptur in den neuen Formprinzipien: die stehende männliche oder weibliche Figur, das Paar, den Kopf mit dem Motiv des Sehens, die Dreiergruppe. Den Auftakt bildet der Torso von 1925, in dem die Figur auf drei geometrisch stilisierte Körper reduziert wird und trotzdem in den gespannten Volumen und dem kontrapostischen Aufstreben eine organische Lebendigkeit ausstrahlt.

Untersucht Giacometti in den kubistoiden Werken eher formale Probleme wie die Öffnung und Durchdringung des skulpturalen Blocks oder das dynamische Verhältnis zwischen den einzelnen Elementen, so gestaltet er in den idolhaften Figurationen in der Art afrikanischer oder ozeanischer Kunst symbolische Zeichen für Wirklichkeitserfahrung. Nahezu magische Präsenz erreicht Giacometti in der von menschenförmigen Löffeln angeregten Löffelfrau, der ersten seiner bannend frontalen, kultbildartigen grossen Frauen. Das mächtige Oval, an urtümliche Fruchtbarkeitsidole erinnernd, wölbt sich dem Betrachter halb entgegen, halb weicht es, sich öffnend, zurück und erregt so eine rätselhafte Spannung.

Eine weitere systematische Untersuchungsreihe entwickelt Giacometti im Sommer 1927 in Stampa und Maloja in einer Folge von Köpfen nach dem Vater und der Mutter. Alle diese Erfahrungen münden 1928 in Blickender Kopf, die erste ganz eigene Erfindung Giacomettis. Der Ausdruck liegt im gespannten Umriss der rechteckigen Platte auf dem «Hals» und den beiden Vertiefungen, die das Schauen evozieren: ein körperloses, erscheinungshaftes Gebilde, eine das Licht auffangende Membran. Giacometti hat diesen Formtyp, der seinem unplastischen plastischen Gefühl so genau entspricht, in einer Reihe weiblicher Scheiben variiert. Die folgenden Skulpturen, besonders poetisch die Träumende Frau, greifen wieder real in die dritte Dimension aus und kehren das Verhältnis von Einkerbungen und Platte um: diese wird aufgelöst und die Zeichen stehen frei im Raum.

Giacometti Femme couchee qui reve.jpg

Femme couchée qui rêve (Träumende Frau), 1929

Bronze, weiss bemalt, Höhe 24 cm

Giacometti Torse

Torse, 1925/26

Gips, Höhe 58 cm

Giacometti Femme cuillere

Femme-cuillère (Löffelfrau), 1926/27

Bronze, Höhe 144 cm

Giacometti Tete qui regarde

Tête qui regarde (Blickender Kopf), 1928

Gips, Höhe 39 cm

< 1 2 3 4 >