Late Works

In late 1949 and early 1950, while still working on the disembodied sculptures drawn from memory, Giacometti returned in his painting to the study of the model. Once again, drawing helped him find a solution to the artistic problems he faced. In his efforts to transpose perceived nature into the persistent reality of the image in such a way that the vital polysemy of the seen and experienced is retained, he reverts back to the graphic artist’s technique of tracing the movements of the eye, the gaze, with the pencil or paintbrush, restlessly sketching around the forms, dissolving their outlines into a breathing space, compacting their centres to energy cores.
As in the craggy surfaces of his sculptures, Giacometti thus achieves a complete transformation and dematerialization of the representational, which nevertheless appears as a realistic image in the painting. His experience of “visions” and his phenomenological reflections enable him to configure what is actually in front of him as an internal image; the inner frame marks this difference. The evocative yet impalpable details, the void between (and indeed within) things, point to the openness and diffuseness of the mental conceptual space, which acts as intermediary between external reality and that which is visible on the canvas.

In 1951, Giacometti’s work with models led him to establish a greater sense of proximity and corporeality in his sculptures. In his busts of Diego he sought to evoke the living presence of the other through the activation of perception. A first series of works brings this internal perspective to bear on the relationship between head and body. In ‘Diego in a Sweater’, for example, the remoteness and reduction of the head concentrates the entire energy in this core, its charisma dominating everything around it.
The other series culminates in the ‘Large Head of Diego’, in which Giacometti emphasizes that particular characteristic of the human head which allows it to exhibit two entirely different views, whose psychological expression cannot ultimately be conveyed. He draws the instinctively dominant frontal view closer to the attenuated figures and compensates for it with the broad development of the profile, with which he clearly associates death. He uses the subtly nuanced flattening to activate the view from the fore: the sense of depth in the elongated form that runs from the chin close to us, via the nose and the eyes to the distant ears, combined with the tension between the two halves of the face, forces us to constantly refocus our gaze.

By depicting the act of seeing in this way, Giacometti allows us to perceive an arresting vitality in the head. And every viewer of the work, by completing the task of the seeing and shaping artist, re-invokes the enigmatic presence of his fellow human being. Creating that presence with ever-renewed intensity was Giacometti’s chief goal until the very end of his life. In the portraits of Caroline and other late heads, such as our ‘Head of a Man I (Diego)’, he achieved an almost magical actuality through the medium of painting. Among his sculptures, however, it is the three busts of Elie Lotar, with their dramatic tension between the chaotically formless body and the perfectly sculpted head emerging from the base material, that his work achieves its final culmination.

Giacometti Tete dhomme I

Head of a Man I - Diego, 1964

Oil, 45.5 x 35 cm

Gift of the artist

Giacometti Lotar II

Lotar II, 1965

Bronze, height 58.2 cm

Gift of Bruno and Odette Giacometti

< 1 2 >

Späte Werke

1949/50, noch während er an den körperlosen, aus der Erinnerung geschöpften Skulpturen arbeitet, kehrt Giacometti in der Malerei zum Modellstudium zurück. Einmal mehr hilft ihm das Zeichnen, eine Lösung der anstehenden künstlerischen Probleme zu finden. Im Bestreben, die wahrgenommene Natur so in die beständige Wirklichkeit des Bildes zu übertragen, dass die lebendige Vieldeutigkeit des Gesehenen und Empfundenen erhalten bleibt, greift er auf das zeichnerische Mittel zurück, mit dem Stift oder dem Pinsel die Bewegungen des Auges, des Blickes nachzuvollziehen, die Formen rastlos zu umkreisen, ihre Umrisse in eine atmende Zone aufzulösen, ihre Zentren zu Energiekernen zu verdichten.
Ähnlich wie in der zerklüfteten Behandlung der Skulptur, erreicht Giacometti dadurch eine vollständige Umsetzung und Entmaterialisierung des Gegenständlichen, das im Gemälde doch als ein realistisches Bild erscheint. Die Erfahrung der «Visionen» und die phänomenologischen Überlegungen ermöglichen es ihm, das tatsächlich vor ihm Befindliche als ein inneres Bild zu gestalten; der Binnenrahmen markiert diese Differenz. Das Evokative, aber nicht Greifbare der Einzelheiten, die Leere zwischen, ja in den Dingen verweisen auf das Offene und Diffuse des mentalen Vorstellungsraums, der zwischen der äusseren Wirklichkeit und dem auf der Leinwand Sichtbaren vermittelt.

Das Arbeiten vor dem Modell führt Giacometti 1951 auch in der Skulptur zu einer grösseren Nähe und Körperhaftigkeit. In den Büsten nach Diego sucht er, durch die Aktivierung der Wahrnehmung die lebendige Präsenz des Gegenübers zu evozieren. Eine erste Werkreihe bringt die Binnenperspektive im Verhältnis von Kopf und Körper zur Geltung. So konzentriert sich in Diego im Pullover durch die Entrückung und Verkleinerung des Kopfes die ganze Energie in diesen Kern, der mit seiner Ausstrahlung das Umfeld beherrscht.
Die andere Werkreihe gipfelt in Grossen Kopf Diegos. Giacometti betont die Eigenart des menschlichen Kopfes, zwei ganz unterschiedliche, in ihrem psychologischen Ausdruck letztlich nicht zu vermittelnde Ansichten aufzuweisen. Er nähert die instinktiv dominante Frontalansicht den fadendünnen Figuren und gleicht sie durch die breite Entwicklung des Profils aus, in dem für ihn offensichtlich Todesassoziationen mitschwingen. Die sehr differenziert durchgeführte Abflachung benützt er zu einer Aktivierung der Ansicht von vorn: durch die grosse Tiefenerstreckung vom nahen Kinn und der Nase über die Augen bis zu den fernen Ohren und die Spannung der beiden Gesichtshälften muss der Betrachter seinen Blick pausenlos neu fokussieren.

Indem Giacometti so das Sehen im Werk zeigt, verleiht er dem Kopf in der Wahrnehmung eine bannende Lebendigkeit. Jeder Betrachter beschwört im Nachvollzug der Arbeit des sehenden und gestaltenden Künstlers die rätselhafte Präsenz des Mitmenschen erneut herauf. Diese mit immer neuer Intensität zu gestalten, war das grosse Ziel Giacomettis bis an sein Lebensende. In den Portraits von Caroline und anderer späten Köpfen, wie unserem Kopf eines Mannes I (Diego), erreichte er in der Malerei eine fast magische Gegenwärtigkeit. In der Skulptur aber bilden die drei Büsten Elie Lotars mit ihrer dramatischen Spannung von chaotisch formlosem Körper und dem sich aus diesem niedrig Materiellen erhebenden, vollendet strahlenden Haupt einen letzten Höhepunkt.

Giacometti Tete dhomme I

Tête d’homme I – Diego (Männlicher Kopf I – Diego), 1964

Öl, 45,5 x 35 cm

Giacometti Lotar II

Lotar II, 1965

Bronze, Höhe 58,2 cm

Geschenk von Bruno und Odette Giacometti

< 1 2 >