The Lure of Surrealism

When ‘Gazing Head’ was first exhibited at a Paris gallery in June 1929, the Surrealists reacted with excitement to the enigmatic object, which eschews the representational and instead gives physical form to an internal, psychical activity. Michel Leiris wrote the first text on Giacometti, which was also fundamental to the unknown young artist’s self-perception; in it he commented on Giacometti’s ability to create these “true fetishes”, the “objective forms of our desires, our wishes”.

The concept espoused by the Surrealists, that works of art should be phenomena from the unconscious raised to the level of everyday reality, was demonstrated by Giacometti with programmatic clarity in his ‘Pocket Emptier’. The base is replaced by an everyday object – a small tray into which the user can empty the contents of a pocket – which, rather than separating the spheres of art and life from each other, serves instead to bind them inextricably together. In this novel formal type, which aims to be an object rather than a work of art, the ethereal plaque sculptures become “disagreeable objects, without pedestal, to be thrown away,” inspired by the concept of bas matérialisme of Georges Bataille, the low, the chaotic and the instinctive. Thus in ‘Project for a Passageway’ we have what seems to be the figure of a woman, her body opened up, lying flat on the ground, without a base, transformed into an architect’s model into which our imaginations can import a whole life odyssey and much more besides.

While these objects continue to suggest physical movements and contacts, Giacometti soon went a step further: in his celebrated ‘Suspended Ball’, the sphere can actually be moved. The invitation to grasp and manipulate seems even more forceful in the small, deceptive machine entitled ‘Caught Hand’.It evokes sadistic urges which, through the threat to the hand, are immediately punished or transmuted into the masochistic. The hand trapped in the rods of the machine is reminiscent of a prosthesis or showroom dummy – the preferred fetishes of the Surrealists with their cult of tactile compulsions and phobias. The most complex of these objects is perhaps ‘Point to the Eye’, a petrified duel on a Mexican playing field with a channel for the sacrificial blood. While we are initially shocked by the aggression implicit in the huge blade pointing towards the eye, we immediately realize that the figure being threatened is Death itself, the eternal victor in the dance of the dead. The work thus opens up a network of dialectic associations which implicate this seemingly so unambiguous object more deeply than any other in the baffling thought processes and metaphorical symbology of the Surrealists.

Giacometti’s last Surrealist works are dominated by thoughts of death, a long-held obsession of his lent fresh relevance by the death of his father in 1933 and depressing developments in contemporary politics and art. He moved away from the esoteric intellectual universe of the Surrealist circle, with its absurd games and its demand that works of art should be mere things. During this period, with the support of his brother Diego, he produced decorative “objects” as a means of earning a living: lamp stands, vases and the like for an elegant boutique. In his artistic activities, however, he sought to make fundamental statements.
The ambivalence or dialectic of life and death comes crucially to the fore in ‘Head-Skull’: its dead right-hand side seems incomparably more powerful and vital than the smoothly abstract left. In the words of art critic Carl Einstein, describing the origins of art, “The work is a protection against the invisible, which lurks everywhere, unleashing terror; a barrier against a diffuse and pervasive animism.” Giacometti was receptive to these spheres, so readily cultivated by the Surrealists: the enthroned figure of ‘The Invisible Object’ refers to them, and “visions” of heads between life and death would also be at the root of his mature, phenomenological realism.

The work known as ‘Cube’ also marks the end of his engagement with the avant garde. The dissolution of the block to reveal a life within defines Giacometti's preoccupation with Cubism. Later he drew a small polyhedron, its shape marked out only by wires, within which an imprisoned human figurine dances: a body entirely free in its organic movement is confronted with the strictly stereometric construction, the living entombed within the dead, a metaphor for the impossibility of capturing living reality through geometric stylizations. For Giacometti, the large polyhedron in Dürer’s engraving ‘Melencolia I’ must have seemed an ominous emblem of this failure, and surely inspired him to create the ‘Cube’. Giacometti later commented that none of his sculptures were abstract except the ‘Cube’, though even this was actually a head. Here, he took stylization to extremes: fascinating, unapproachable, silently closed in on itself like death. Life has withdrawn into the invisible of its own internality.

Giacometti Vide poche

Vide-poche, 1930

Plaster, height 17.5 cm

Gift of Bruno and Odette Giacometti

Giacometti Projet pour un passage.jpg

Project for a Passageway, 1930

Plaster, 16 x 126 x 42 cm

Giacometti Boule suspendue

Suspended Ball, 1930

Plaster, metal, height 61 cm

Giacometti Main prise

Caught Hand, 1932

Wood, metal, 20 x 59.5 x 27 cm

Giacometti Pointe à l’œil

Point to the Eye, 1932

Plaster, 13.5 x 59.5 x 31 cm

Giacometti Tete crane

Head-Skull, 1934

Plaster, height 18.5 cm

Gift of the artist

Giacometti Cube

Cube, 1934

Bronze, height 94 cm

< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >

Im Banne des Surrealismus

Als im Juni 1929 Blickender Kopf zum ersten Mal in einer Pariser Galerie zu sehen war, reagierten die Surrealisten begeistert auf das rätselhafte Objekt, das nicht abbildet, sondern ein inneres, psychisches Geschehen gestaltet. Michel Leiris schrieb die erste, auch für Giacomettis Selbstverständnis grundlegende Kritik über den unbekannten jungen Künstler, der diese «wahren Fetische» erzeugen konnte, die «objektiven Formen unseres Begehrens, unserer Wunschvorstellungen.»
Das Konzept der Surrealisten, dass Kunstwerke in die Alltagsrealität gehobene Fundstücke aus dem Unbewussten sein sollen, hat Giacometti mit programmatischer Deutlichkeit in Taschen-Entleerer demonstriert. An der Stelle des Sockels erscheint ein Gebrauchsgegenstand – eine kleine Schale, in die man den Tascheninhalt entleert –, der nun Kunst- und Lebenssphäre nicht voneinander abhebt, sondern vielmehr jene unlösbar in diese einbindet. Die ätherischen Scheibenplastiken werden in dem neuen Formtyp, der nicht mehr Kunstwerk, sondern Gegenstand sein will, zu «unangenehmen Dingen, ohne Basis, zum Wegwerfen», dem «bas matérialisme» des Vordenkers Georges Bataille, dem Niedrigen, Chaotischen, Triebhaften zugeordnet. Entsprechend sieht man im Modell für einen Durchgang eine Frau, den Leib geöffnet, ohne Sockel flach auf den Boden gelegt und zu einem Architekturmodell transformiert, in das man nun eine ganze Lebensreise und viel anderes imaginieren kann.

Werden in diesen Objekten physische Bewegungen und Kontaktnahmen suggeriert, geht Giacometti bald einen Schritt weiter: in der berühmten Schwebenden Kugel lässt sich die Kugel tatsächlich bewegen. Noch entschiedener erscheint die Aufforderung zum Ergreifen und Manipulieren bei der kleinen, hinterhältigen Maschinerie Gefährdete Hand. Sadistische Affekte werden geweckt, die durch die Bedrohung der Hand sogleich bestraft oder ins Masochistische gewendet werden. Das im Maschinengestänge gefangene Glied gleicht Prothesen oder Schaufensterpuppen, bevorzugten Fetischen der Surrealisten mit ihrem Kult von Berührungszwängen und -phobien. Das komplexeste dieser Objekte dürfte Stachel gegen das Auge sein, ein erstarrter Zweikampf auf mexikanischem Spielfeld mit Rinne für Opferblut. Schockiert zunächst die Aggression des gewaltigen, auf das Auge zielenden Stachels, gewahrt man alsbald, dass der Bedrohte der Tod selbst ist, der im Totentanz doch stets der Sieger bleibt. Damit eröffnet sich ein Geflecht dialektischer Assoziationen, die das scheinbar so eindeutige Objekt tiefer in die verwirrenden Gedankengänge und die metaphorische Motivwelt der Surrealisten verstrickt als irgendein anderes.

Die letzten surrealistischen Werke Giacomettis sind von Todesgedanken beherrscht, eine alte Obsession Albertos, aktualisiert durch das Sterben des Vaters 1933 und die bedrückenden politischen und künstlerischen Entwicklungen. Er entfremdete sich der esoterischen Gedankenwelt des Surrealisten-Zirkels mit seinen absurden Spielen und der Forderung, dass Kunstwerke blosse Dinge sein sollen. «Objekte» produzierte Alberto, unterstützt von seinem Bruder Diego damals als Dekorationsgegenstände zum Broterwerb – Lampenfüsse, Vasen und dergleichen für eine elegante Boutique; in Kunstwerken aber wollte er wesentliche Aussagen machen.
Die Ambivalenz oder Dialektik von Tod und Leben kommt im Kopf-Schädel entschieden zur Geltung: seine rechte, tote Seite wirkt ungleich kraftvoller, lebendiger, als die linke, glatt abstrahierte. «Das Kunstwerk ist ein Schutz gegen das Unsichtbare, das überall herumschleicht und uns schreckt; eine Schranke gegen den diffusen, drohenden Animismus,» schrieb der Kunstkritiker Einstein über den Ursprung der Kunst. Alberto war offen auf diese vom Surrealismus kultivierten Sphären; die thronende Figur Der unsichtbare Gegenstand (L’objet invisible) bezieht sich darauf, und «Visionen» von Köpfen zwischen Tod und Leben werden am Ursprung des reifen, phänomenologischen Realismus stehen.

Auch der sogenannte Kubus markiert einen Endpunkt der Auseinandersetzung mit der Avantgarde. Die Auflösung des Blockes auf ein inneres Lebendiges bestimmt Giacomettis Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kubismus. Später zeichnet er einen kleinen, nur mit Drähten umrissenen Polyeder, in dem ein gefangenes Männchen tanzt: eine ganz frei organisch bewegte Figur wird mit der streng stereometrischen Konstruktion konfrontiert, das Lebendige in das Tote eingesargt, eine Metapher für die Unmöglichkeit, mit geometrischen Stilisierungen die lebende Wirklichkeit zu erfassen. Der grosse Polyeder auf Dürers Kupferstich Melencolia I muss Alberto wie ein ahnungsvolles Emblem für dieses Scheitern erschienen sein und ihn zum Kubus angeregt haben. Keine seiner Plastiken sei abstrakt ausser dem Cube, bemerkte Giacometti später, aber auch dieser sei eigentlich ein Kopf. Alberto hat hier die Stilisierung an ihren Extrempunkt getrieben: faszinierend, unnahbar, wie der Tod schweigend in sich geschlossen. Das Leben hat sich in das Unsichtbare seines Innern zurückgezogen.
Giacometti Vide poche

Vide-poche (Taschen-Entleerer), 1930

Gips, Höhe 17,5 cm

Geschenk von Bruno und Odette Giacometti

Giacometti Projet pour un passage.jpg

Projet pour un passage (Modell für einen Durchgang), 1930

Gips, 16 x 126 x 42 cm

Giacometti Boule suspendue

Boule suspendue (Schwebende Kugel), 1930

Gips, Metall, Höhe 61 cm

Giacometti Main prise

Main prise (Gefährdete Hand), 1932

Holz, Metall, 20 x 59,5 x 27 cm

Giacometti Pointe à l’œil

Pointe à l’œil (Stachel gegen das Auge), 1932

Gips, 13,5 x 59,5 x 31 cm

Giacometti Tete crane

Tête-crâne (Kopf-Schädel), 1934

Gips, Höhe 18,5 cm

Geschenk des Künstlers

Giacometti Cube

Cube (Kubus), 1934

Bronze, Höhe 94 cm

< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >