History

The leading private collection of work by Alberto Giacometti was assembled around 1955 by Pittsburgh industrialist G. David Thompson, who purchased most of the pieces from Pierre Matisse of New York, the art dealer central to Giacometti’s career. Thompson also contacted the artist himself, had his portrait done by Giacometti and acquired works from him directly, with the intention of one day transferring his holdings to a museum for display.

In 1960, having learned from Basel art dealer Ernst Beyeler that the collection was for sale, René Wehrli, then Director of the Kunsthaus Zürich, hatched a plan to keep the Giacomettis - 61 sculptures, seven paintings and 21 drawings with a price-tag of CHF 3 million – in Switzerland.

Collectors Hans C. Bechtler and Walter A. Bechtler were keen to help get the pieces for Zurich, and it is thanks to their years of work that the Foundation exists.

Ernst Beyeler, who had been charged with the sale, acquired the collection when procurement of funds proved sluggish, with financing provided by Basel collector Hans Grether. Soon thereafter Hans C. Bechtler and a group of patrons were able to use interest-free loans from three major Swiss banks to secure the works for the Foundation, and as of 1963 they were displayed in the Kunsthaus Zürich. A financing package from the federal, cantonal and city administrations was torpedoed by a campaign in the press, but a group of private individuals and companies donated the requisite funds.

Under the leadership of Hans C. Bechtler, its first president, the Alberto Giacometti Foundation was formally established on 16 December 1965, not long before the artist’s death on 11 January 1966.

The first Foundation Board comprised the key sponsors:
Dr. Walter A. Bechtler, Ernst Göhner, Hans Grether, Walter Haefner, Walter Meier, A. H. Meyer, Balthasar Reinhart, Karl G. Steiner, Gustav Zumsteg, Bruno Giacometti, Dr. René Wehrli and Prof. Adolf Max Vogt.

Alberto Giacometti himself donated three sculptures, nine late paintings, six drawings and 19 lithographs.

The generous involvement of Hans Grether and Balthasar Reinhart has led to a quarter of the works being shown in the Kunstmuseum Basel, and a tenth in the Kunstmuseum Winterthur.

The later donations
Since its establishment, the Foundation has seen its holdings enhanced by purchases and gifts, notably from Bruno and Odette Giacometti, Hans C. and Elisabeth Bechtler-Staub, Dr. Anton and Anna Bucher-Bechtler, Franz Meyer (its second president), James Lord, Rudolf Werner, the estate of Margrit Bühler-Gredig and the city and canton of Zurich.

In 2006, together with his wife Odette, Bruno Giacometti donated 75 original plasters, a stone sculpture, two works in plasticine and 15 bronzes, including some very significant late pieces, all from the estate of his late brother. This doubled the Foundation’s store of sculpture, and meant that for the first time the collection comprised art drawn from Giacometti’s entire creative life, from his earliest efforts to his very last, illuminating every key element of his work and affording a glimpse at numerous surprising facets of his oeuvre.

Giacometti Portrait David Thompson

Portrait of G. David Thompson, 1957

Oil on canvas, 100 x 73 cm

Entstehung

Die bedeutendste Privatsammlung von Werken Alberto Giacomettis wurde um 1955 von dem Pittsburger Industriellen G. David Thompson zusammengetragen. Die meisten Arbeiten erwarb er von Pierre Matisse in New York, dem wichtigsten Galeristen Giacomettis, doch nahm er auch mit dem Künstler Kontakt auf, liess sich portraitieren und erhielt direkt von ihm einige Werke, da er damals die Absicht hatte, das Ensemble geschlossen in ein Museum zu überführen.

Als René Wehrli, der Direktor des Kunsthaus Zürich, vom Basler Kunsthändler Ernst Beyeler erfuhr, dass die Sammlung zu kaufen war, lancierte er 1960 die Idee, den Giacometti-Bestand in der Schweiz zusammenzuhalten. Der verlangte Preis für die 61 Skulpturen, 7 Gemälde und 21 Zeichnungen betrug 3 Millionen Franken.

Die Sammler Hans C. Bechtler und Walter A. Bechtler begeisterten sich dafür, die Werke für Zürich zu sichern; es ist ihrem langjährigen Einsatz zu verdanken, dass die Stiftung realisiert werden konnte.

Da sich die Mittelbeschaffung verzögerte, übernahm der mit dem Verkauf beauftragte Ernst Beyeler, finanziert durch den Basler Sammler Hans Grether, die Sammlung. Kurze Zeit danach gelang es Hans C. Bechtler mit einer Gruppe von Mäzenen dank zinslosen Darlehen von drei Schweizer Grossbanken, den Bestand für die Stiftung zu sichern. Ab 1963 wurden die Werke in Kunsthaus Zürich ausgestellt. Nachdem eine Finanzierung durch Bund, Kanton und Stadt an einer ausufernden Pressepolemik gescheitert war, spendete eine Gruppe von Privatpersonen und Firmen die nötigen Mittel.

Unter der Führung von Hans C. Bechtler, dem ersten Präsidenten, wurde am 16. Dezember 1965 die Alberto Giacometti-Stiftung kurz vor dem Tod des Künstlers (11. Januar 1966) formell gegründet.

Dem ersten Stiftungsrat gehörten die wichtigsten Gönner an:
Dr. Walter A. Bechtler, Ernst Göhner, Hans Grether, Walter Haefner, Walter Meier, A. H. Meyer, Balthasar Reinhart, Karl G. Steiner, Gustav Zumsteg, sowie Bruno Giacometti, Dr. René Wehrli und Prof. Adolf Max Vogt.

Alberto Giacometti schenkte der Stiftung drei Skulpturen, neun späte Gemälde, sechs Zeichnungen und 19 Lithographien.

Auf Grund der Zuwendungen von Hans Grether und Balthasar Reinhart werden ein Viertel der Werke im Kunstmuseum Basel und ein Zehntel im Kunstmuseum Winterthur gezeigt.

Die späteren Schenkungen
Seit der Gründung sind die Bestände durch Ankäufe und Geschenke erweitert worden, vor allem von Bruno und Odette Giacometti, Hans C. und Elisabeth Bechtler-Staub, Dr. Anton und Anna Bucher-Bechtler, Franz Meyer (dem zweiten Präsidenten), James Lord, Rudolf Werner, den Erben von Margrit Bühler-Gredig und von Stadt und Kanton Zürich.

2006 schenkten Bruno und Odette Giacometti aus dem Nachlass seines Bruders Alberto 75 Originalgipse, eine Steinskulptur, zwei Plastilinarbeiten und 15 Bronzen, darunter sehr bedeutende Spätwerke. Damit verdoppelte sich der Bestand an Plastiken; erst damit umfasst die Sammlung der Alberto Giacometti-Stiftung das Lebenswerk des Künstlers von seinen frühesten bis zu den letzten Werken in allen seinen wesentlichen Aspekten und zahlreichen, überraschenden Facetten.

Giacometti Portrait David Thompson

Portrait G. David Thompson, 1957

ÖI, 100 x 73 cm